Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
book
BookBook
Author Fechtor, Jessica.

Title Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home / Jessica Fechtor.

Publication Info. New York : Avery, [2015]

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Berlin-Peck Memorial Library - Biographies  92 BIOGRAPHY FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 Cheshire Public Library - Adult Department  BIOGRAPHY FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 Enfield, Main Library - Biographies  B FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 Newington, Lucy Robbins Welles Library - Adult Department  B FECHTOR, J.    Check Shelf
 Plainville Public Library - Non Fiction  B FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 West Hartford, Bishop's Corner Branch - Non Fiction  641.5092 FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 West Hartford, Noah Webster Library - Non Fiction  641.5092 FECHTOR    Check Shelf
 Windsor, Main Library - Adult Department  616.1 FE    Check Shelf
Description xii, 271 pages ; 22 cm
Summary " M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it"-- Provided by publisher.
"After suffering a brain aneurysm and a life-threatening infection, Jessica Fechtor set about cooking and baking to pull herself back together again, fixing what was broken, and living with what couldn't be fixed"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Fechtor, Jessica -- Health.
Intracranial aneurysms -- Patients -- United States -- Biography.
Intracranial aneurysms -- Patients -- Rehabilitation -- United States.
Cooking -- Therapeutic use.
Intracranial Aneurysm -- United States -- Personal Narratives.
Genre/Form Cookbooks.
ISBN 9781594631320 hardcover
1594631328 hardcover
-->
Add a Review