Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
book
BookBook
Author Pringle, Paul, author.

Title Bad city : peril and power in the City of Angels / Paul Pringle.

Publication Info. New York, NY : Celadon Books, [2022]
©2022
2 holds on first copy returned of 2 copies

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Manchester, Main Library - New Materials  362.2909 PRINGLE    Check Shelf
 West Hartford, Noah Webster Library - Adult New Materials  362.2909 PRINGLE    DUE 08-24-22
Edition First edition.
Description viii, 289 pages ; 25 cm
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 277-289).
Contents Prologue -- The Overdose -- Sarah and Tony -- The Tip -- Hitting a Wall -- Searching for Sarah -- The Warrens -- The Celebration -- We Need the PD -- A Protected Person -- Spiking the Story -- Secret Reporting Team -- Sarah's Escape -- No Snitches -- Ecstasy Before the Ball -- Hazel and Willy -- Disappearing the Whistleblower -- Puliafito Story Explodes -- Purging the Masthead -- Billionaire Backers -- A Baby -- Another Bad Doctor -- Tyndall's Hush-Hush Deal -- The Fall of Max Nikias -- Varsity Blues -- Saving The Times, And . . . .
Summary "For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds. On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California's shiniest stars--Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who'd long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn't be a walk in the park. USC is the largest private employer in the city of L.A., and it casts a long shadow. But what he couldn't have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined--spilling into their own newsroom. Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city's debased institutions, in a narrative that reads like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Puliafito, Carmen A., 1951- -- Drug use.
University of Southern California -- Corrupt practices -- Case studies.
Drug abuse -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies.
Universities and colleges -- Corrupt practices -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies.
Corruption -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies.
Investigative reporting -- California -- Los Angeles -- Case studies.
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology / General.
University of Southern California. (OCoLC)fst00529458
Corruption. (OCoLC)fst01352550
Drug abuse. (OCoLC)fst00898480
Investigative reporting. (OCoLC)fst00978154
Universities and colleges -- Corrupt practices. (OCoLC)fst01161665
California -- Los Angeles. (OCoLC)fst01204540
Genre/Form Case studies. (OCoLC)fst01423765
Case studies.
ISBN 9781250824080 (hardcover)
1250824087
9781250824097 (ebook)
-->
Add a Review