Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Issitt, Micah L., author.

Title Presidential authority / Micah L. Issitt.

Publication Info. Amenia, NY : Grey House Publishing, [2020]


Location Call No. Status
 University of Saint Joseph: Pope Pius XII Library - Internet  WORLD WIDE WEB E-BOOK CREDO    Downloadable
University of Saint Joseph patrons, please click here to access this Credo Reference resource
Description 1 online resource (xxxvi, 921 pages) : illustrations.
Series Opinions throughout history
Opinions throughout history.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Contents Defining the presidency: George Washington (1789-1797) -- The natural aristocracy: John Adams (1797-1801) -- Aristocratic progressivism: Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809) -- Father of the constitution: James Madison (1809-1817) -- Controlling the Americas: James Monroe (1817-1825) -- A populist revolution: John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson (1825-1837) -- A conservative division: Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, and John Tyler (1837-1845) -- Manifest destiny: James K. Polk (1845-1849) -- The last of the Whigs: Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore (1849-1853) -- An inevitable collapse: Franklin Pierce and James Buchanan (1853-1861) -- Emancipation: Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865) -- Reconstruction halted: Andrew Johnson (1865-1869) -- Corrupt bargains: Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877) -- The lost presidents: Rutherford B. Hayes, James Garfield, and Chester A. Arthur (1877-1885) -- Popularity and political corruption: Grover Cleveland and Benjamin Harrison(1885-1897) -- A state of anarchy: William McKinley (1897-1901) -- Natural American history: Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft (1901-1913) -- The dawn of internationalism: Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921) -- The conservative shift: Warren Harding, Calvin Coolidge, and Herbert Hoover (1921-1933) -- New ideas: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1933-1945) -- Extreme solutions: Harry S. Truman (1945-1953) -- The Cold War hero: Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961) -- Civil rights and human rights: John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson (1961-1969) -- Thieves and liars: Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford (1969-1977) -- Moralistic progressivism: Jimmy Carter (1977-1981) -- Acting like a president: Ronald Reagan (1981-1989) -- Crime and punishment: George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton (1989-2001) -- Empire and archetype: George W. Bush and Barack Obama (2001-2017) -- America's business: Donald Trump (2017-) -- Conclusion: the limits of power.
Summary This volume looks at how American presidents have used the power of the presidency not only to shape America's domestic and foreign policy, but also for personal gain.
Note Title page of print version.
Subject United States. Executive Office of the President -- History.
United States. Executive Office of the President -- Public opinion.
Executive power -- United States -- History.
Executive power -- United States -- Public opinion.
Presidents -- United States -- History.
Other Form: Print version: 1642654507 9781642654509
ISBN 9781787857339 (electronic version)
1787857336 (electronic version)
9781642654509 (print)
1642654507 (print)
Add a Review