Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Schütte, Uwe, 1967- author.

Title Kraftwerk : future music from Germany / Uwe Schütte.

Publication Info. [London] : Penguin Books, 2020.


Location Call No. Status
 New Britain, Main Library - Non Fiction  780.92 KRA    Check Shelf
Description xv, 316 pages : illustrations ; 19 cm
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-316).
Contents Foreword -- Introduction: The birth of electronic pop music in Düsseldorf -- Early works: the Kraftwerk story unfolds -- Movement and velocity: from Autobahn to Trans-Europe Express -- 'We are the robots': from The Man-Machine to Computer World -- Enter the digital revolution: from Techno Pop to Tour de France -- Sound and vision 3D: working on The Catalogue -- 'Music non stop': Kraftwerk's legacy -- Postscript: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8.
Summary So many of Kraftwerk's innovations have become absorbed into the mainstream that it is sometimes hard to remember just how innovative, strange and avant-garde they were. Ignoring almost all rock traditions, working in near total secrecy in their Dusseldorf studio, releasing new material sometimes at very long intervals, Kraftwerk also revolutionized stage presentation and, through their obsession with design and presentation, linked their work to the traditions of the Bauhaus and 1920s German aesthetics. Kraftwerk: Future Music from Germany brilliantly describes how a genuinely new, strange and powerful sound stemmed from years of restless experimentation and from the unique atmosphere both of the West German state and of a wider Rhineland industrial avant-garde.
Subject Kraftwerk (Musical group)
Rock musicians -- Germany -- Biography.
Synthpop (Music) -- Germany -- History and criticism.
Kraftwerk (Musical group) (OCoLC)fst00658011
Rock musicians. (OCoLC)fst01099238
Synthpop (Music) (OCoLC)fst01762625
Germany. (OCoLC)fst01210272
Genre/Form Biographies. (OCoLC)fst01919896
Criticism, interpretation, etc. (OCoLC)fst01411635
Added Title Future music from Germany
Other Form: ebook version : 9780241320556
ISBN 9780141986753 (paperback)
0141986751 (paperback)
9780241320556 (ePub ebook)
Add a Review