Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Bestseller
BestsellerE-Book
Author Bellotto, Tony, 1960- author.

Title Bellini and the sphinx / a novel by Tony Bellotto ; translated from the Brazilian Portuguese by Clifford E. Landers.

Publication Info. Brooklyn, New York : Akashic Books, [2019]
©2019

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Rocky Hill - Downloadable Materials  EBSCO Ebook    Downloadable
Rocky Hill cardholders click here to access this title from EBSCO
Description 1 online resource
Summary Included in CrimeReads's list of February's Best International Crime Fiction Included in Chicago Review of Books's list of Winter's Best Thrillers "Bellini and the Sphinx is the American debut for the wildly popular Sao Paulo-based crime series written by Bellotto, the celebrated Brazilian guitarist and writer. His private eye, Remo Bellini, is a conscious homage to Philip Marlowe and the classic noir American detectives, but with an identity all his own and a milieu, the streets of Sao Paulo, that are as alive and mysterious as any you'll come across in the genre. American readers have waited too long for this, but they'll finally get the chance to visit Brazil through Bellotto/Bellini's eyes." -Literary Hub Included in CrimeReads's List of The Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019 "Originally published in Portuguese in 1995, Bellotto's series opener introduces Remo Bellini, a private eye in the tradition of Spade and Marlowe but distinctively Brazilian...Bellotto's detective, less ironic and more earnest in his angst than his American counterparts, proves a compelling guide to the passionate world of SAo Paulo." -Kirkus Reviews "Previously published in Brazilian rock musician Bellotto's native country, the SAo Paolo-set noir follows private detective Remo Bellini, who is investigating the disappearance of several women connected to the underworld and the related murder of a famed surgeon. Bellotto says he modeled his PI on Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe, and that the plot, which involves prostitutes and live-sex performers, evokes two classically intertwined themes: sex and death." -Publishers Weekly "Private detective Remo Bellini plunges into the underworld of SAo Paulo in search of [a] missing dancer at the behest of her married lover, a renowned surgeon, who soon turns up dead." -Publishers Weekly, Included in Spring 2019 Announcements / Mysteries & Thrillers "Bellini is a classic private eye, having fallen into the career from a failed attempt at the law...If a reader were interested in knowing what hard-boiled detective fiction is all about, this would be a good place to start." -The Cyberlibrarian "Bellini and the Sphinx is an enjoyable light ride, with enough variety to keep readers interested." -The Complete Review "Tony Bellotto has written his novel in the best noir tradition. The book, in the style of Edgar Allan Poe, grips the reader from beginning to surprising end. Bellini and the Sphinx is a landmark in Western crime fiction." -Paulo Lins, author of City of God "Bellotto is one hell of a writer. With an elegant and quick narrative voice, he reaches a pinnacle of excellence and originality that's hard to find around here." -Reinaldo Moraes, author of PornopopEia "If Marlowe and Harry Bosch are Los Angeles, Matt Scudder is New York and Maigret, Paris, the detective Remo Bellini is SAo Paulo's most complete translation." -O Globo Who is the missing dancer Ana CIntia Lopes' Why did her coworkers, Camila and DinEia, disappear' What does the voluptuous prostitute Fatima want' Who killed renowned surgeon Dr. Samuel Rafidjian' And what is the role of the hulking live-sex performer known as the Indian' To confront the puzzle of several sphinxes, most of them female, private de.
Subject Missing persons -- Fiction.
Criminal investigation -- Fiction.
Private investigators -- Brazil -- Fiction.
Sex-oriented businesses -- Fiction.
São Paulo (Brazil : State) -- Fiction.
FICTION / General.
Criminal investigation. (OCoLC)fst00883201
Missing persons. (OCoLC)fst01023702
Private investigators. (OCoLC)fst01077503
Sex-oriented businesses. (OCoLC)fst01114670
Brazil. (OCoLC)fst01206830
Brazil -- São Paulo (State) (OCoLC)fst01330480
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Detective and mystery fiction. (OCoLC)fst01726581
Fiction. (OCoLC)fst01423787
Detective and mystery fiction.
Added Author Landers, Clifford E., translator.
Other Form: Print version: 161775689X 9781617756894 1617756628 9781617756627 (OCoLC)1030915300
ISBN 9781617756900 (electronic book)
1617756903 (electronic book)
-->
Add a Review