Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
book
BookBook
Author Brady, Conor, author.

Title The eloquence of the dead / Conor Brady.

Publication Info. New York : Minotaur Books, 2016.

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Avon Free Public Library - Adult Department  M BRADY, C.    Check Shelf
 Berlin-Peck Memorial Library - Adult Fiction  FICTION BRADY    Check Shelf
 Bristol, Main Library - Adult Fiction  F BRADY    Check Shelf
 Bristol, Manross Branch - Adult Fiction  F BRADY    Check Shelf
 Cheshire Public Library - Adult Department  MYSTERY BRADY    Check Shelf
 Enfield, Main Library - Adult Department  F BRADY    Check Shelf
 Middletown, Russell Library - Adult Mystery  MYS-BRA    Check Shelf
 New Britain, Main Library - Adult Fiction  FIC BRADY, C    Check Shelf
 Newington, Lucy Robbins Welles Library - Adult Department  M BRADY, C.    Check Shelf
 Plainville Public Library - Adult Fiction  MYS BRADY    Check Shelf

Edition First U.S. edition.
Description xviii, 360 pages : map ; 25 cm
Series A Joe Swallow mystery ; [2]
Brady, Conor. Joe Swallow mystery ; 2.
Note A Thomas Dunne Book.
Summary "Bodies can tell you a lot. There can be an eloquence about the dead. But you have to be able to interpret what they are telling you." This captivating, expertly crafted mystery captures the life and essence of Victorian Dublin and draws the reader on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue. When a Dublin Pawnbroker is found murdered and the lead suspect goes missing, Sergeant Joe Swallow is handed the poisoned chalice of the investigation. On the way he uncovers deep rooted corruption, discovers the power of new, scientific detection techniques and encounters a ruthless adversary. With authorities pressing for a quick resolution, the public living in fear of attack and the newspapers happy to point to the police's every mistake, Swallow must use every trick in his arsenal to crack the case. Following leads from Trim Castle to the Tower of London, The Eloquence of the Dead is a taut, fast-paced crime thriller perfect for fans of Charles Finch and Charles Todd-- Provided by publisher.
Subject FICTION -- Mystery & Detective -- Police Procedural.
FICTION -- Mystery & Detective -- Historical.
Police -- Fiction.
Pawnbrokers -- Crimes against -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Dublin (Ireland) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Detective and mystery fiction.
Mystery fiction.
ISBN 9781250057570 (hardback)
1250057574 (hardback)
9781466861275 (e-book)
-->
Add a Review