Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
book
BookBook
Author MiƩville, China.

Title This census-taker : a novella / China MiƩville.

Publication Info. New York : Del Rey, [2016]

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Berlin-Peck Memorial Library - Adult Fiction  FICTION MIEVILLE    Check Shelf
 Bloomfield, Prosser Library - Adult Department  F MIEVILLE, C.    Check Shelf
 Canton Public Library - Adult Department  FICTION MIEVILLE    Check Shelf
 East Hartford, Raymond Library - Adult Department  F MIEVILLE CHINA    Check Shelf
 Enfield, Main Library - Adult Department  F MIEVILLE    Check Shelf
 Glastonbury, Welles-Turner Memorial Library - Adult Department  F MIEVILLE    Check Shelf
 Granby, Main Library - Adult  SF MIEVILLE, CHINA    Check Shelf
 Manchester, Main Library - Adult Fiction  MIEVILLE, CHINA    Check Shelf
 Manchester, Main Library - Basement Materials  MIEVILLE, CHINA    Check Shelf
 Mansfield, Main Library - Adult Fiction  F MIEVILLE    Check Shelf

Edition First edition.
Description 210 pages ; 22 cm
Summary "For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Mieville. In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries--and fails--to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity"-- Provided by publisher.
"After his mother goes missing, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged father. When an odd man knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over. But will this stranger at last trigger the doom the boy has feared or will he somehow save the boy from the worst?"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Fantasy / General.
FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary.
Genre/Form Fantasy fiction.
Mystery fiction.
ISBN 9781101967324 (hardcover : acid-free paper)
1101967323 (hardcover : acid-free paper)
-->
Add a Review