Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
     
Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Bestseller
BestsellerE-Book
Author Carson, Clare, author.

Title The Canary Keeper / Clare Carson.

Publication Info. [Place of publication not identified] : Head of Zeus / Vearsa Limited, [2019]
©2019

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 Newington - Downloadable Materials  Freading E-book    Downloadable
Newington cardholders click here to access this title from Freading
 Rocky Hill - Downloadable Materials  Freading Ebook    Downloadable
Rocky Hill cardholders click here to access this title from Freading
 Wethersfield - Downloadable Materials  FreadingEbook    Downloadable
Wethersfield cardholders click here to access this title from Freading
 Windsor Locks - Downloadable Materials  Freading Ebook    Downloadable
Windsor Locks cardholders click here to access this title from Freading
Description 1 online resource (416 pages)
text file rdaft
(epub)
Access Access limited to subscribing institutions.
Summary "'Historical fiction at its very best' ELLY GRIFFITHS. A Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month. They will see me hang for this. London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. Talk soon spreads of the killer and his striking accomplice: a young widow in mourning dress. Birdie Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning. She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess? To clear her name, she must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make to save her life. This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars , The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton. 'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' ELLY GRIFFITHS. 'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON. 'Unearths startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' THE TIMES. 'A top quality piece of historical fiction' iSCOT MAGAZINE."-- Provided by Freading.
Note Publisher metadata.
Subject Single women -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Malicious accusation -- Fiction.
London (England) -- History -- 1800-1950 -- Fiction.
Orkney (Scotland) -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Thrillers (Fiction)
Historical fiction.
Subject FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical.
Genre/Form Electronic books.
ISBN 9781786690579 (epub)
Standard No. 9781786690579
-->
Add a Review