Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title Simple gifts. The Chamber Music Society at Shaker Village / [director, Habib Azar].

Publication Info. Arlington, VA : PBS, [2016]


Location Call No. Status
 Enfield, Main Library - Audio-Visual Materials  DVD 780.973 SIM    Check Shelf
Description 1 videodisc (90 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
digital optical rda
video file DVD video rda
Concert television programs. lcgft
System Details DVD, widescreen (16x9), stereo.
Language Subtitled for the deaf and hard of hearing.
Note Title from web page.
Performer The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (Gilles Vonsattel, Wu Han, piano ; Kristin Lee, Arnaud Sussmann, violins ; Paul Neubauer, viola ; Davdi Finckel, cello ; Daxun Zhang, bass ; Tara Helen O'Connor, flute ; David Shifrin, clarinet ; Peter Kolkay, bassoon) ; the Escher String Quartet (Adam Barnett-Hart, Aaron Boyd, violins ; Pierre LaPointe, viola ; Brook Speltz, cello). Host: Audra McDonald.
Note Widescreen.
Audience TV rating: TV-G.
Summary Each year on Memorial Day weekend, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center takes up residency in one of the country's most beautiful historic sites: Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill in Kentucky, where a vibrant Shaker community once flourished.
Contents The magic of Shaker Village -- The social orchestra (selections) / Stephen Foster -- The union, concert paraphrase on National Airs for piano, op. 28 / Louis Moreau Gottschalk -- Sonatina in G Major for violin and piano, op. 100 / Antonin Dvořák -- Souvenirs for piano, four hands, op. 28 / Samuel Barber -- F.C.'s jig for violin and viola / Mark O'Connor -- Appalachian spring suite for ensemble / Aaron Copland.
Subject Chamber music -- United States.
Shaker Village (Ky.)
Historic sites -- Kentucky -- Pleasant Hill.
Genre/Form Concert television programs.
Video recordings for the hearing impaired.
Added Author Azar, Habib, 1979- film director.
McDonald, Audra, host.
Container of (work): Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990. Appalachian spring.
Container of (work): Gottschalk, Louis Moreau, 1829-1869. Union.
Container of (expression): Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904. Sonatina, violin, piano, op. 100, G major; arranged.
Container of (work): Barber, Samuel, 1910-1981. Souvenirs.
Container of (work): O'Connor, Mark. F.C.'s jig.
Container of (work): Foster, Stephen Collins, 1826-1864. Social orchestra. Selections.
Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), publisher.
Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, instrumentalist.
Escher String Quartet, instrumentalist.
Added Title Chamber Music Society at Shaker Village
ISBN 9781627898126
Standard No. 841887029506
Music No. LVLC601 PBS
Add a Review